“Patty Heaton Is My BFF”


ATTICUS SHAFFER, CHARLIE MCDERMOTT, PATRICIA HEATON, NEIL FLYNN, EDEN SHER

“Where has the year gone?”

How many times have you heard that said? Well, if you hang with the over 40 set, that number could be staggering.

Let me bump it up by one, by asking… where HAS the year gone?

I’m a huge fan of Patricia Heaton. My sister Wendy thinks that she and… oh whatever that Duggar woman’s name is… would be best friends if they ever met.

Can you keep a secret?

I think the same thing about me and Patty Heaton.

If you watched “Everybody Loves Raymond” and now watch “The Middle”, you understand the genius that is Patricia Heaton.

Two of my favorite episodes in both “Raymond” and “Middle” deal with a Christmas letter.

Debra (Raymond) AND Frankie (Middle) try, without success to write the perfect Christmas letter. A letter which conveys to the extended family and friends what an amazing year the family has had.

They both end is utter failure, but because it’s Patty Heaton…humorously so!

My new bff and I both understand the need to look back this time of year.

We want to take stock. We want to know that our lives have moved in a positive direction. We want to believe we have gained something other than extra pounds and a stronger addiction to fair trade coffee.

One thing I hope I have gained this year, is a greater understanding of the true meaning of Christmas.

I love having my house smell of pine and twinkle with lights. I love listening to Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas” and The Carpenter’s “Home for Christmas”.

I love crying through sappy Hallmark movies and curling up for the umpteenth reading of “A Christmas Carol”.

I love sitting in the family room at my Dad’s house singing Christmas songs with my sisters, nieces and nephews. I love watching the little ones tear into packages and hear the crackling fire in my Mom’s bonus room.

But, it all means nothing if I don’t take a little time to kneel before the King of Kings and offer Him a gift. The gift of me…

Until next time… Merry Christmas Today and Every Day!

Aunt Zip

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

